The Official 3-Day Training Season Begins!

I just came back from the official Tampa Bay 2011 3-Day for the Cure Training Kick-off Event. And while it took place in an indoor (mall) setting, boy was that a HOT walk!

The event started at the 3-Day core sponsor’s location, New Balance (as in the incredible walking/sporting goods shoe store), in Westshore Plaza. We were able to do a foot analysis and shoe fitting as well as enjoy awesome discounts on their products. Then there was a brief overview and walking pep talk before we took off in the mall (pre-opening hours, so no distractions or crowds other than the walkers).

I was able to reunite with walkers that I have met before in previous (unofficial) walks. One of which is a nice woman, named Debbie, a 15 year breast cancer survivor. In addition, I finally decided to join a team here in town, ‘Thanks for the Mammories’. They are an impressive group of women with whom I look forward to sharing this journey with as we get ready for the “Big Event” (only 6 months to go!) They will be a great “support group” as I discipline myself while training. I need someone to help get my butt in gear, someone to say “HEY! Get up off that couch! We’re walking today!” No excuses, Jenna… Thanks to my new team, there will also be plenty of opportunity for me to get in shape and make an amazing new group of friends (which is something I could definitely use). 🙂

I’m definitely feeling the drive to do more with this event this weekend, so I made myself a challenge to raise at least $100 for the 3-Day before the weekend is out (since there were almost 100 people in attendance at the Kick-off). Could you help me reach this goal? Remember: Your donation goes toward something even bigger than helping me reach a simple goal. You could help save someone’s life today.

Thank you.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3-Day Walk for the Cure

Leave a Reply

