It starts with a goal…

$4,600.

Goal driven and wanting to make a difference, this year I have decided to join the Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure® in Tampa, Florida, taking place October 28-30, 2011. The next step is to reach that huge monetary goal. How does one manage to raise that much money with limited time and seemingly limited resources? One thing’s for sure: It’s a challenge. A challenge I am willing to take.

Do I have a “personal story” as to why I am participating in one of the largest fundraisers for breast cancer research? A story so uplifting, so touching… Enough to bring a tear to your eye? Not really. Sure, my grandmother (on my father’s side) passed away in the early 90’s from breast cancer. It was caught too late to allow her the chance of living a long lifetime. Yes, that hits close to home and, sadly, I can’t even count on one hand the number of times I was able to see my grandmother before she died. But is that enough to drive a person to take part in such a huge undertaking? Compared to most of the stories I’ve read about those who have participated in the 3-Day, I’m not so sure. It’s heartwrenching to think about the number of people that I will be joining on the walk who are cancer survivors themselves. Rather than mope in their own misfortune, they are out there doing something about it. Just for that they deserve more admiration than I do. Really.

If I can help to make a difference by taking part in this event, I will. But I cannot do it without the support of people like you. Through your donations you can contribute to my goal and allow me to walk in October. I can’t walk without $2,300 raised, but I’ve decided to double that. Let’s go above and beyond and raise as much as we can for the cause!

Leave a comment

Filed under 3-Day Walk for the Cure

Leave a comment